astrologer, life coach & business consultant

Zodiac Signs

Definition of the Zodiac :

ZodiacZodiac which is the Greek word for“circle of animals,” is a celestial sphere in the sky within which the paths of the Sun, Moon and the planets are found.   Simply put – the zodiac is a band of stars that encircle the earth. The size of the zodiac circle is 360 degrees.  Through that circle runs a line that is called the “ecliptic.”

In astrology, the zodiac is divided into 12 zodiacal constellations (or, often referred to as the 12 signs of the zodiac).  Each is named after a constellation through which the ecliptic passes in that region of the sky.  The constellations (i.e. Astrological signs) begin with ARIES, followed in calendrical order by TAURUS, GEMINI, CANCER, LEO, VIRGO, LIBRA, SCORPIO, SAGITTARIUS, CAPRICORN, AQUARIUS, and ending with PISCES.  Each sign of the zodiac has certain characteristics which are based on the sign and the planet that rules that sign.


Aries – first zodiacal sign
March 21 – April 20
Libra – seventh zodiacal sign
September 23 – October 22
Taurus – second zodiacal sign
April 21 – May 21
Scorpio – eighth zodiacal sign
October 23 – November 21
Gemini – third zodiacal sign
May 22 – June 21
Sagittarius – ninth zodiacal sign
November 22 – December 21
Cancer – fourth zodiacal sign
June 22 – July 22
Capricorn – tenth zodiacal sign
December 22 – January 20
Leo – fifth zodiacal sign
July 23 – August 23
Aquarius – eleventh zodiacal sign
January 21 – February 19
Virgo – sixth zodiacal sign
August 24 – September 22
Pisces – twelfth zodiacal sign
February 20 – March 20


Know How Your Zodiac Sign can help you